Emergency Call 9-1-1
Dispatch Office (423) 837-7554

Departments

Kimball Police Department

Location 695 Main Street


 
     
 
     

Kimball Police Mock Crash
  April 3, 2009

 


See Active Amber Alerts



Tommy Jordan, Chief
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext. 112
  Timothy Allison, Sergeant
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 210
  Tray Adams, Officer
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 208
         
Gregory Rowe, Lieutenant
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 207
  Doug Gouger, Officer
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 211
  George "Chip" Wampler, Officer
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 214
         
Chris Webb, Sergeant
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 209
  Brent Hubbard, Officer
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 213
  Tim Hudson, Officer
Voicemail (423) 837-0007 ext 212
         


>back to top


Accident/Offense Reports and DVD Copies
PLEASE ALLOW THREE (3) WORKING DAYS FOR REPORTS TO BE AVAILABLE

The records section process arrest reports, offense reports and accident reports. Offense reports and accident reports cost $10.00. Please make all requests to Sharon Case Kimball Police Records 675 Main Street Kimball, TN 37347 phone (423) 837-7040. All requests must include name and date of accident or incident. Faxed reports must be paid in advance. Records division hours Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm (CST).

For a copy of a DVD of a police incident recorded by police vehicle camera, please contact Police Chief Tommy Jordan at (423) 837-0007 or 695 Main Street Kimball, TN 37347. There is a charge of $25 per DVD copy.

MUNICIPAL COURT Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
Monday,
  January 7, 2013
February 4, 2013
March 4, 2013
April 1, 2013
May 6, 2013
June 3, 2013
July 1, 2013
August 12, 2013
September 9, 2013
October 7, 2013
November 4, 2013
December 2, 2013

 

 

  5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m.

  In the News
Kimball Selects New Town Judge
City Court Judge
Melissa Thomas Blevins
23 Court House Square
Jasper, TN  37347
(423) 942-9444 Phone
(423) 942-1049 Fax

 


 

 

Court Fines

The state legislature recently passed a new law that creates a new fee of $13.75 that all city court clerks must collect from traffic offenders who post a cash bond prior to court. 
>more information

The Town of Kimball Municipal City Court has a cash appearance bond schedule for speeding, parking, and most other violations. You may pay the cash appearance bond before court and avoid the court appearance. Remember that cash bonding will definitely add points to your driver's license as set by the state issuing the license.

State of Tennessee Point System

Court is held on the second Monday of each month at town hall 675 Main Street. Court starts at 5:00 p.m. Questions concerning Court please contact Sharon Case (423) 837-7040.

Method of Payment
The town accepts cash, cashier's checks, and money orders or personal checks written on a local bank with preprinted personal information. WE DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT OR DEBIT CARD PAYMENTS. Payment may be mailed to Town of Kimball 675 Main Street Kimball, TN 37347.

>back to top

Driver License Reinstatement with the State of Tennessee

Reinstate On-line

**NOTE: Reinstatement Payment Plans can only be issued through the Nashville, Maryville, and Memphis Reinstatement Offices. Click here for more information on the payment plan.**
NOTE: There are six (6) additional reinstatement offices throughout the state that process reinstatements by appointment only. You may call for information regarding days/hours of service.

License reinstatements can be processed at the following locations:

(Walk-in, Mail, On-line or Fax Accepted)
Tennessee Department of Safety
1150 Foster Ave.
Nashville, TN 37243
Telephone: (615) 741-3954
Toll-Free: (866) 903-7357
Fax: (615) 253-2093
(Walk-in only)
6348 Summer Ave.
Memphis, TN 38134
Telephone: (901) 543-6287
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. (Central Time)
 
Telecommunicative Device
for the Deaf: (615) 532-2281
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (Central Time)
(Appointment only)
306 Home Ave.
Maryville, TN 37801
To Schedule an Appointment Call: (865) 681-2357
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
   
  e-mail address: FinResp.Safety@state.tn.us
 

To obtain reinstatement requirements prior to visiting, you must call (615) 741-3954 or toll-free (866) 903-7357, or e-mail FinResp.Safety@state.tn.us. You may also go online to www.tennesseeanytime.org/tndlr/. The Driver License stations cannot give requirements over the phone.

NOTE: Please allow two business days for an e-mail response.

Appointment Only Locations:

Blountville
3769 Highway 11-W, 37617
(423) 279-3250
Columbia
1701 Hampshire Pike, 38401
(931) 380-2548
 
 
Chattanooga
6502 Bonny Oaks Drive, 37416
(423) 634-3127
Dyersburg
361 James H. Rice Rd., 38024
(731) 286-8325
 
 
Cleveland
409 South Ocoee, 37312
(423) 478-0346
Jackson
100 Benchmark Circle, 38301
(731) (423) 6622
 
 
  Driver License Issuance Office in Marion County
103 Oak Avenue
Jasper, TN 37347
Phone (423) 942-3794
Fax (423) 942-0150
Hours Tuesday - Friday 7:00 am to 5:30 pm (CST)

>back to top


Move Over Law

  • The "Move Over Law" is a part of the "Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicles Law".
  • Tennessee was the 30th state to establish a move over law which creates a safety zone to protect police, firefighters, and other emergency personnel.
  • Beginning July 1, 2006, penalties for violating the Move Over law in Tennessee increased from a maximum $50 fine to a $100 to $500 fine and possibly up to 30 days in jail.
  • " T.C.A. 55-8-132. Operation of vehicles and streetcars on approach of authorized emergency vehicles.
  • " The "Move Over" campaign was created to raise awareness of the move over law, and protect state troopers and others whose workplace is often the side of a busy highway.

>back to top


Amendment to Financial Responsibility Law
Tennessee's Financial Responsibility Law (T.C.A.,55-12-139) changed effective January 1, 2002. At the time the driver of a motor vehicle is charged with any moving violation under Title 55, Chapters 8 and 10, Parts 1-5, Chapter 50; any other local ordinance regulating traffic; or at the time of an accident for which notice is required under Section 55-10-106, the officer will request evidence of financial responsibility. In the case of an accident for which notice is required under Section 55-10-106, the officer will request such evidence from all drivers involved in the accident, without regard to apparent or actual fault.

In addition, effective July 2, 2003, T.C.A. 55-12-140 requires the court to report the dismissal of violations of failure to provide evidence of financial responsibility under 55-12-139, if the charge was dismissed because the person obtained evidence of financial responsibility prior to the court's disposition. The department will place a STOP on your vehicle file and not issue a renewal of registration for any vehicle for which evidence of financial responsibility is required under 55-12-139. This applies to drivers with cases dismissed because of obtaining the evidence of financial responsibility prior to the court's disposition and drivers suspended because of conviction.

>back to top


Evidence of Financial Responsibility
Evidence needed to comply with the law includes documentation such as an insurance card, binder or declaration page of a policy from an insurance company authorized to do business in Tennessee, stating that a policy of insurance meeting the requirements of the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Law of 1977 has been issued; or a certificate from the Department of Safety noting that a cash deposit or bond has been posted in the amount required by the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Law of 1977, or that a person has qualified as a self-insurer under Section 55-12-111, or the motor vehicle being operated at the time of the violation was owned by a carrier subject to the jurisdiction of the Department of Safety or the Interstate Commerce Commission, or was owned by the United States, this state or any political subdivision thereof, and that such motor vehicle was being operated with the owner's consent.

>back to top


Child Safety
Proper Child Safety Seat Use Chart
Buckle Everyone. Children Age 12 and Under in Back!

 
Infants
  Toddler   Young Children
Weight
Birth to 1 year
at least 20-22 lbs.
  Over 1 year and
Over 20 lbs.-40 lbs.
  Over 40 lbs.
Ages 4-8, unless 4'9''.
Type of Seat
Infant only or rear-facing convertible   Convertible / Forward-facing   Belt positioning booster seat
Seat Position
Rear-facing only   Forward-facing   Forward-facing
Always Make Sure:

Children to one year and at least 20 lbs. in rear-facing seats

Harness straps at or below shoulder level

 

Harness straps should be at or above shoulders

Most seats require top slot for forward-facing

 

Belt positioning booster seats must be used with both lap and shoulder belt.

Make sure the lap belt fits low and tight across the lap/upper thigh area and the shoulder belt fits snug crossing the chest and shoulder to avoid abdominal injuries

Warning
All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat   All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat   All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat

 

Child Safety Tips

  1. Make sure your child learns his or her address and phone number at an early age. A second phone number of a friend or relative is also helpful.
  2. Teach your child how to call 911 in case of an emergency.
  3. Do not leave a child unattended while shopping, visiting with neighbors or friends, or running errands. Under no circumstances should you leave a child alone in a vehicle.
  4. When home alone, children should never open the door for strangers.
  5. On the telephone, your child should never let anyone know they are home alone. Discuss responses such as: "Mom/Dad is busy right now."
  6. A child should never leave school or daycare with anyone except a parent or guardian. You and your child should have a password in case you send someone else to pick them up.
  7. When shopping or in a crowd, children should be taught who to go to if separated from you. (Cashier, clerk, security officer, etc.) The child should never leave the store looking for you.
  8. Make sure your child knows to scream and run if approached in an alarming way by anyone.
  9. Your child should know to make you aware anytime he or she feels uncomfortable with anyone.
  10. Get to know the Internet and the sites your child visits. Teach your child to never give out personal information online. Your child should NEVER arrange a meeting with anyone he or she meets online.
  11. Make sure your child always checks with you before going anywhere with anyone. Have them inform you of where they are going, whom they are going with and when they will be home.
  12. Keep a record of your child's personal and medical information on hand in case of an emergency. Always include a recent photograph.
  13. Remember to teach children that police officers are their friends, and that we are there to help them.

>back to top


Handgun Permit Information
Obtaining Handgun Permit in Tennessee

To obtain a handgun carry permit in Tennessee, you must first complete a handgun safety course offered by a handgun safety school that is certified by the Department of Safety.
You should then make application at any Driver License Station with the exception of an Express Driver License Station. Bring with you the original copy of your safety course completion certificate and $115 NONREFUNDABLE permit fee. This fee may be paid in cash or with a certified check. If there are no problems with the application and you meet all eligibility requirements, you should receive your permit within 90 days of the date you submit your application.

Once you complete the application, you will be given a toll free number to call and schedule a fingerprint appointment.

Effective July 1, 2005, all new handgun permit applicants must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency unless such applicant has already provided this proof and it is documented on their driver license record.

How do I Renew a Handgun Carry Permit?

  • Your handgun carry permit will expire four (4) years from the date it is issued.
  • Renewals can be submitted up to six (6) months prior to the expiration date. Any person whose handgun carry permit expires and such person applies for a renewal within six (6) months from the date of expiration, such person shall only be required to comply with the renewal provisions. However, you may not lawfully carry a weapon until you receive a new permit.
  • *If the renewal application is filed six (6) months or more from the date of expiration, such person shall, for all purposes, be considered a new applicant.
  • The fee is $50.00. A background check will be conducted on all renewal applicants. A new permit will be mailed from the Central Handgun Permit Office. Permit Holders may legally carry with the receipt provided from the application.
  • A permit holder can submit a Renewal Application at any Driver License Center or renew by mail. Applications may be downloaded or, to receive a renewal application by mail call (615) 251-8590.
  • Complete and sign your application. Mail the application and the $50.00 fee payable by check or money order to the following address:

    Tennessee Department of Safety
    Handgun Permit Office
    1150 Foster Ave.
    Nashville, TN 37243-1000

  • Incomplete applications cannot be processed.
  • FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE.

*Shall be required to meet all of the original requirements, including an eight (8) hour safety course, completing a new application, fingerprinting, and $115 nonrefundable application fee.

>back to top


DUI Facts
A single DUI (Driving Under the Influence) conviction could cost you as much as $5,000 or more after all fines and fees have been paid. A first offense DUI charge could easily add up to such a staggering cost! The cost could be even higher if you don't qualify for the restricted driver license for driving to work during your suspension. This could add expense for alternate transportation (taxi, bus fare, etc.) or even worse, the complete loss of your employment.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) includes not only alcohol, but any intoxicant, narcotic drug, or other drug producing central nervous system effects -- including prescription drugs.

Offense Fine Jail Time License Revocation
       
First Conviction $350 - $1,500 24 hours - 11 months 29 days One (1) Year
 
Second Conviction $600 - $3,500 45 days - 11 months 29 days Two (2) Years
 
 

**If second conviction occurs within 5 years of the first the following also apply:

  • Mandatory enrollment in the Ignition Interlock Program for 6 months following reinstatement of driver's license
  • Vehicle subject to seizure and/or forfeiture.

 


Third Conviction $1,100 - $10,000 120 days - 11 months 29 days Three (3) - Ten (10) Years
 
Fourth Offense $3,000 - $15,000 Not Less Than 150 Consecutive Days Five (5) Years

 



Potential costs of a DUI conviction include:

  • Fines
  • Court Costs
  • Bail
  • Towing and Vehicle Storage Fees
  • Attorney Fees
  • Alcohol Education Program Enrollment
  • Driver License Reinstatement Fees
  • Ignition Interlock Program Costs
  • Higher Insurance Premiums and SR-22 Form.

In addition, you will need to:

  • Show proof that all fines and court costs have been paid to the court for the violation.
  • Proof of completion of alcohol/drug program if 2nd offense

You can obtain a restricted license if no prior DUI and no other revocations or suspensions are against your driver record. You will have to:

  1. Obtain an order from the judge
  2. Pay a $67.00 driver license fee
  3. File SR-22 insurance
  4. Show proof of liability insurance in effect on date of violation
  5. Take complete driver license examination (eye, law, and road)

>back to top


Safety Tips for Everyone While Walking

  • Be alert to your surroundings and the people around you.
  • Stay in well-lighted areas as much as possible.
  • Walk confidently at a steady pace on the side of the street facing traffic.
  • Walk close to the curb. Avoid doorways, bushes, and alleys.
  • Wear clothes and shoes that give you freedom of movement.
  • Don't walk alone at night and always avoid areas where there are few people.
  • Be careful when people stop you for directions. Always reply from a distance, and never get too close to the car.
  • If you are in trouble, attract help any way you can. Scream, yell for help, or yell "Fire!"
  • If you feel you're being followed, walk into a store or knock on a house door.

>back to top


Related Links

America's Most Wanted Police One
ATF Most Wanted
Project Safe Neighborhoods
Crime Alert
TN Administrative Office of the Courts
FBI's Ten Most Wanted Fugitives
TN Bureau of Investigation (TBI)
Federal Bureau of Investigation
TN Department of Correction
Governor's Highway Safety Program
TN Department of Safety
GREAT - Gang Resistance Education and Training
TN Emergency Management Agency (TEMA)
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
TN Law Enforcement Training Officers Association
National Center for Missing & Exploited Children TN Missing Children
National Center for Victims of Crime
TN Sexual Offender Registry
National Crime Prevention Council
TN Valley Authority (TVA) Police
National Runaway Switchboard
The Officer Down Memorial Page, Inc.
NetSmartz
Top 15 Most Wanted by U.S. Marshals
Office National Drug Control Policy
United States Department of Justice
Officer.Com: Law Enforcement Resource Site
United States Secret Service
Partnership for a Drug-Free America
U.S. Postal Inspection Service Most Wanted
       
       

 

 
675 Main Street | Kimball, Tennessee 37347 | (423) 837-1039 Fax | (423) 837-7040
Local Government Corporation | Email the Webmaster