at 675 Main Street
(423) 837-1039 (fax)
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (CST)
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
The Town of Kimball requires all entities that conduct business within the city to obtain a business license. The initial license fee is $15. After the initial license, the business owner will file the business tax license through the State of Tennessee at the following website: https://apps.tn.gov/biztax/.
Please feel free to use the following to assist your business in completing the online business tax which is now paid to the State of Tennessee:
See Online Example Pages
Temporary premises and exhibits stocks of merchandise
to the public for the purpose of selling or offering
to sell merchandise to the public. Each transient vendor
must pay a tax of $50.00 for each 14 day period in which
such vendor sells or offers to sell merchandise. The
tax must be paid the first day of engaging in the business.
Vendor License Application
For questions on Business License
or Transient Vendor License contact:
675 Main Street
Kimball, TN 37347
Fax (423) 837-1039
Peddler/Solicitor/Registered Solicitor Ordinance Summary
The Town of Kimball Ordinance No. 207 regulates Peddlers, Solicitors, and Registered Solicitors operating in the Town. If you plan to conduct business in Kimball as a peddler, solicitor, or registered solicitor, you should be aware of the following:
All persons peddling, soliciting, or registered soliciting in Kimball must first obtain a town permit. Each individual peddler, solicitor, or registered solicitor must apply for permit in person and must show driver’s license or government issued identification at the time of the application. Application Fee is $100 non-refundable. Permits are valid for 30 days from the date of issuance
Peddlers, Solicitors, or Registered Solicitors must visibly display their permit in a conspicuous place while conducting business in the Town of Kimball.
Peddlers, Solicitors, or Registered Solicitors must not approach a residence that is displaying a “No Solicitors” sign.
Property taxes are assessed and collected by the local
governments. County assessors of property appraises
real estate for assessment purposes. The city governing
body determines local property tax rates. The property
taxes are collected by city collecting officials.
The State Board of Equalization
establishes policies and procedures for local assessors
of property and hears property appeals beyond the county
level. The Division of Property Assessments, a division
of the Comptroller of the Treasury, monitors the work
of assessors to ensure proper procedures are followed,
provide technical assistance during re-appraisal programs,
and provide manuals and educational programs for use
To Calculate Your Property Tax,
multiply the appraised value by the assessment ratio
for the property's classification; then multiply this
sum times the tax rate which for Kimball is $0.10 for
The assessment ratio for the different
classes of property is established by state law (residential
and farm @ 25% of appraised value, 30% if your property
is commercial personal property, commercial/industrial
@ 40% of appraised value).
To look up property information
visit Comptroller of the Treasury
of State Board of Equalization
Property Tax Relief
The town participates in a State
of Tennessee program that helps elderly and disabled
citizens below certain income guidelines pay their property
taxes.Proerty Tax Relief Questions & Answers.
For questions on Property Tax
(423) 837-1039 Fax
The sale of alcoholic beverages
is regulated by state and local laws. Beer permit applications
may be picked up at City Hall. When returned the application
must be accompanied by a $250 fee that is non-refundable.
A background check will be made by the Police Chief.
The beer permit applicant must
appear before the Board of Mayor and Aldermen for consideration
of their request for a beer permit. The application
process can be lengthy so applicants should apply well
before opening their business or purchasing an existing
Beer permits are not transferable
and a new owner cannot operate under a previous owner's
license. Stocking beer (actually holding beer on property
you own or operate) without a beer permit is a violation
of the beer permit law and could result in denial of
an application for a permit. Beer permits are due on
January 1 each year and are $100. Failure to renew a
beer permit within the first month can result in denying
a permit. New beer permits are prorated according
to the time issued.
For questions on Beer Permits:
Email Tonia May
675 Main Street
Kimball, TN 37347
Fax (423) 837-1039
The Building permit applications, Sign applications
and Banner Permits may be picked up at town hall during
normal business hours. A 24 hour notice is required
on all building/sign inspections. Sharon Case is the
building inspector's assistant. Please contact town
hall at (423) 837-7040 for inspections.
Building permit fees are as follows:
Total Valuation Fees
$1,001.00 to $50,000.00 $15.00 for first $1,000.00 plus
for each additional thousand or
fraction thereof, to and including $50,000.00
$50,001.00 to $100,000.00 $260.00
for the first $50,000.00 plus
$4.00 for each additional thousand or
fraction thereof, to and including $100,000.00
$100,001.00 to $500,000.00 $460.00
for the first $100,000.00
plus $3.00 for each additional
thousand or fraction thereof, to and including $500,000.00
$500,001.00 and up $1,660.00
for the first $500,000.00
plus $2.00 for each additional
thousand or fraction thereof.
Sign Permits are calculated by
multiplying the total square feet by the sum of $2.00.
Earl Geary, Jr.,
Town Building Inspector
(423) 837-7040 Town Hall
Sewer charges are billed through
the South Pittsburg Water Works & Sewer & Marion
Natural Gas www.southpittsburgutilities.com
The initial Sewer tap fees and
annual grease, oil, lint, grit fees are billed and payable
at the Town of Kimball.
Commercial Sewer Rates
$100 per month up to three-thousand gallons (minimum bill)
$7.00 per 1,000 gallons of metered water used per month over 3,001 gallons
Connection Fee (sewer tap fee)
Residential Rate and Fee Schedule
$17.14 per month up to 3,000 gallons (minimum bill)
$5.71 per 1,000 gallons of metered water used per month over 3,000 gallons
Sewer connection fee (tap fee): $588.00
Service call charge $84.00
After-hours service call charge: $117.60
Sewer Grease Traps, Lint Traps,
Grit Traps, Oil Traps, Oil Interceptors and Other Similar
Devices which will be inspected. An annual fee of $300 is due by June 30th each year for those businesses which are required to have the devices.
Marion County E-911 Director
The Marion County E-911 Director, Jerry Don Case, has moved to a new location at 105 West First Street Jasper, Tennessee 37347 directly behind the Marion County Justice Center. His
office phone number is (423) 942-4423 and fax is (423) 942-6525.
This office sets the 911 Addresses for all Marion County